Scenes From the Generation Gap in Osaka, 2010

Last Friday afternoon, the first teaching day of the year, I was sitting around chatting  with a few students about New Year Resolutions. I told them I’d decided to finally read War and Peace.

Student A: One Piece?

Me: No, War and Peace. By Tolstoy.

Student B: “Toy Story”?

Me: Tolstoy. Russian writer.

B: Oh.

Me: You know him? He used to be famous here (True; Russian writers used to be very popular in Japan, especially among university students)

A: I know the name. Maybe we read something short by him in school.

B: He wrote One Piece? That’s Japanese.

Me: No, War and Peace.

B: Not “Toy Story”.

Me: No. Definitely not.

A: “Toy Story” was good.

Me: Yes, I enjoyed it.

B: Gambatte with your book.

Me: Thanks.

This entry was posted in Blogroll, books, culture, japan, language, media, Osaka, 大阪, 日本 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scenes From the Generation Gap in Osaka, 2010

  1. Kelly says:

    OMG “one piece”. VERY big generation gap!!
    I can pretty much say I’ve noticed the same thing with my two nephews. They have no idea what I’m talking about most of the time and roll their eyes. Even though I’m talking about stuff that was popular when I was *their age*.

Leave a Reply

