‘Tis the Season to Declare a Truce

“…taking over a perfectly good old holiday that they know nothing about and spoiling it for everyone who understands the real meaning. I mean, it’s part of our culture not theirs! Kids will grow up not even knowing the real meaning of the day, and they don’t even know what half the stuff they’ve co-opted means! You know what I mean?”

Thus spluttered the last crotchety Roman git to mourn the passing of Saturnalia even after the Christians had long since claimed the season as their own. So with that tenuous reality check in mind, I stop griping about Japan’s crass, tacky, annual two-month love affair with Christmas. Well, at least on my blog.

This entry was posted in Blogroll, culture, japan, 日本. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ‘Tis the Season to Declare a Truce

  1. Brandon says:

    I’ve yet to bitch on Japan in Christmas. But as I’ll be out of here for the two weeks surrounding it, I’ll let it slide this year.

    Cause Sakae looks like Santa puked on it.

  2. They do not understand that Christians will rise up and destroy Japan for blaspheming the holiday and ridiculing Christ. Surely they know the sacredness of the Christian beliefs. Lord help us all when the dogs of war engage.

  3. nagaijin says:

    Thanks, Johnny, hope Santa’s good to ya!

  4. Trouserpress says:

    Shift work? I have ended my 18-year truce with the Japanese Christmas. In fact, I have declared fatwa on it 😉

  5. slenihan says:

    As a “long time lurker, first time poster” and a once-upon-a-time Nagai resident, I have been enjoying your blog for a while now. I’m glad you’ve come to accept the spread of consurmerism to Japan, ‘cuz it isn’t much different here back home (west coast of Canada). At least over there, you get atsukan, yakitori, yakiniku, bonenkai, okinomiyaki and other excuses for seeking oblivion 🙂
    I’m loving the commentary, the photos and the taste of my old ‘hometown’.
    cheers
    ps. OK, I’ll admit I was drinking as I typed this 🙂

  6. pastilla says:

    Lots of lurkers and former Osaka residents here, it seems.

    Christmas in Japan can be pretty damn depressing if you let it. The trick is not to let it:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/35393811@N00/79436620/in/set-1700003

    P.S. FWIW, I thought the Christmas lights in Shinsaibashi were beautiful.

  7. nagaijin says:

    Ah, yes, Pastilla, but Shinsaibashi is the home of Daimaru and Sogo. Daimaru especially always has nice window displays. Department stores created Christmas here, so it’s only appropriate that they’re all lit up. But not *my* little Japanese neighbourhood!

  8. pastilla says:

    I understand 🙂

Leave a Reply

