Shaken, Not Stirred

This morning, there was an earth tremor in Osaka. I was having a bit of a lie-in, this being Sunday. I looked up and saw the very large Times Atlas that I carelessly put on top of the bookshelf some weeks ago peeking over the top, waiting for the right jolt to fall off and kill me. Memo: we’re not in Halifax (where my grandmother still talks about the tremor of c. 1937) anymore. Apparently, the damage was done in Ishikawa Prefecture, quite far from here. Luckily, the epicentre was somewhere in the Sea of Japan. Still, a few houses collapsed, and somebody died. I, however, went back to sleep. Later, at the Sumo match, a Japanese friend who I was talking to asked if the bookshelf was tied down at all. I said no. Well then the atlas is irrelevant, isn’t it, she replied blithely.

Where should I sleep tonight?

This entry was posted in Blogroll, japan, Osaka, 大阪, 日本. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shaken, Not Stirred

  1. dragonlife says:

    Would you believe we felt it here in Shizuoka?
    Cheers,
    Robert-Gilles

Leave a Reply

