A la recherche des rats perdus…

…or, Remembrance of Rats Past.

I have to emphasize just how relaxed I was on Monday evening. My lesson up in Takatsuki was finished, and had gone smoothly. I had ridden back down to Osaka and met up with Kenta to go eat some shabushabu (strips of chilled raw beef sliced very thin, swished quickly with your chopsticks in boiling water – swish-swish equals shabushabu in Japanese – then dipped in either sesame sauce or ponzu sauce) at an all-you-can-eat place in Namba. It’s a clean-looking restaurant, on the second floor of a medium-sized hotel. We were served plate after plate of beef, very delicious, and what with that and two beers (even the metallic Asahi Super Dry tasted good that night) and good conversation, I was feeling rather mellow.

So it was a bit of a jolt when I noticed, over Kenta’s shoulder, a large brown rat saunter out from under the beer cooler and scuttle under the low counter, which held plates and cutlery, near the kitchen. So unreal was it that he may as well have been a remote-control toy, or claymation. Like Basil Fawlty seeing Manuel’s pet rodent for the first time, I just stared straight ahead, at the space below the counter, about 20 feet away. Kenta noticed my rather blank look, and asked what was wrong.

“I just saw a rat.”

Pause. “Oh, I think having cockroaches is worse,” he says. “It means the place is dirty.”

It’s something I will never understand about this country which so prides itself on cleanliness: while a shoe on a kitchen floor is considered disgusting, a rat in a restaurant (as long as he’s not on your table, and you’re not in, say, the Hilton) is something you just put up with. Of course, it doesn’t happen every day, but it’s not a big issue when it does. “Well, it’s a problem everywhere, isn’t it?” they ask, as if we were talking about dandruff. At any rate, we promptly left the restaurant, and I was still too stunned to even mention the four-pawed visitor. Needless to say,though, I’ll never go there again.

It’s easy to forget what a rat-hole Namba was when I first came here in 1989. It is the old entertainment district of Osaka, full of restaurants and bars and karaoke boxes (and, increasingly, far too many pachinko parlours). It’s always been bright and flashy, but also a bit rough and dirty if you turn the wrong corner. Now,the summer of 1990 was a particularly hot one, with temperatures often hitting 37 or 38 degrees (it was nowhere near that sticky again until last year and this year). On those hot nights after work, on the way to The Pig & Whistle – then the only gaijin bar in the area – Fred, when he lived here, would amuse himself by kicking the garbage bags piled along the sidestreets, just to hear the “skreek,skreek,skreek!” of the rats inside. We did not share the same phobias, obviously: the first time he did that, I almost hopped on the plane and went back home. Taking a short-cut in the morning, you’d count the outlines of squashed rats, too slow and fat to avoid the morning delivery trucks.

Then of course (the memories flood back) there was that dark little bar near the Dotombori. Used to love that place too, until one particular night, circa 1991, when someone ordered a pizza and…

Should I go on?

This entry was posted in Blogroll, japan. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A la recherche des rats perdus…

  1. PowerSamurai says:

    Oh, this brings back memories of Umeda between 1990 and 1994 or so around the back of Navio walking towards what was then Kentucky Fried Chicken. The number of rats you would see running around there. I vowed never to eat in that area. Since HEP went up, things are much cleaner. Less rats. Well, the four-legged kind, anyway. 🙂

  2. fred says:

    Osaka,being a port town, always had rats. Yes I remember kicking those bags left in front of Mc D’s, and watching them scurry everywhere. I remember seeing what I thought was a huge cat waddling up the street, but it turned out to be a rat. After a while you don’t even notice. As for HEP scares, as a foreignor who would know as all the warnings would have been in Japanese.
    I remember being in a restaurant and looking up and seeing a rat scurry across the ceiling! After I screamed and yelled RAT!! the Japaenese patrons just looked at and went back to their food. So I screamed it againg , but in Japanese, only to get a comment that my Japnaese is very good for a foreignor. But as for cleaniness…. not in restaurants. One guy at a Tatsusoba, greeted me with an “Irashya!” When we both looked down at the counter, his hand quick came down and squashed the cockroach and then he wiped it on his apron. I guess he was confused as to why I turned around and left.

  3. nagaijin says:

    HEP, by the way, is a shopping centre in Umeda, not short for hepatitis (but there was always plenty of that around too, I’m sure).

Leave a Reply

